Hatchett Documents - Marion Jasper Hatchett Civil War Records

Marion Jasper Hatchett served as a private in the 7th Regiment of the Georgia Cavalry. He was wounded during the Battle of Trevilian Station, during which a large part of the 7th Cavalry was killed or wounded, including the commanding officer McAllister.

The content on this page was compiled from original or exact images of documents and official recordings. It's not a copy of someone else's transcription or abstract unless so noted, and with their permission. New material will be added, and mistakes corrected over time. If using this as a source, please use a link to this page so people can see the most recent version. I expressly do not give permission to copy and submit this to commercial or restricted online databases or websites. I don't want people to pay or register to view this material when they can see it free on this site.

Georgia Confederate Veterans Pension Records

Georgia Confederate Veterans Pension Records, transcribed Feb 2007,
"Hatchett Documents - Marion Jasper Hatchett Civil War Records" (online hatchetts.com)
[Original data: Georgia Dept. of Archives and History, Confederate pension records]

Transcribed by Steve Hatchett from photostatic copies of microfilm images.

Questions for Applicant

Crawford County  }

Marion J Hatchett of said State and County, desiring to avail himself of the Pension
Act (Section 1254 Code), hereby submits his proofs and after being duly sworn true
answers to make for the following questions, deposes and answers as follows:
1. What is your name and were do you reside? (give State, County and post office)
Marion J. Hatchett. Pinebird?. Crawford Co. Ga.
2. How long and when have you been a resident of this State?
68 years since Jan 23, 1833
3. When and where were you born?
Jan 23, 1833. Oglethorpe Co. Ga.
4. When and where and in what company and regiment did you enlist or serve?
May 15, 1862. at Savannah Ga in Co. E. 7th Reg. Ga Cavalry
5. How long did you remain in such company and regiment?
Nearly 3 years
6. When and where was your company and regiment surrendered and discharged?
April 9th 1865 at Appomattox Va
7. Were you present with your company and regiment when it was surrendered?
I was not
8. If not present, state specifically and clearly where you were, when you left
   your command, for what cause and by what authority?
I was at home. Went to hospital wounded on June 11. 1864. Was sent home on
20 Aug 1864 + was not able to return to my command
9. How much can you earn (gross) per annum by your own exertions or labor?
Not enough for a support
10. What has been your occupation since 1865?
11. Upon which of the following grounds do you base your application for
    pension, viz: first, "age and poverty", second, "infirmity and poverty",
    or third, "blindness and poverty"?
12. If upon the first ground, state how long you have been in such condition
    that you could not earn your support? If upon the second, give a full and
    complete history of the infirmity and its extent? If upon the third, state
    whether you are totally blind and when and where you lost your sight?
Old age + disabled from wounds received in service. Shot through right
shoulder, ball passing through side and coming out near spine. Was sent to
hospital and then furlowed home and did not return to command because I was not
able to perform any duty.
13. What property real or personal or income do you possess and its gross value?
14. What property, real or personal did you possess in 1895, 1896, 1897, 1898,
    1899, and 1900 and what disposition, if any, by sale or gift have you made
    of same?
15. In what County did you reside during these years, and what property did you
    then return for taxation?
In Crawford Co. Ga. Returned no property
16. How were you supported during the years 1899 + 1900.
By my own labor and the help of my children
17. How much did your support cost for each of those years, and what portion
    did you contribute thereto by your own labor or income?
I don't know - Supported myself with help of my grown sons
18. What was your employment during 1899 and 1900? What pay did you receive in
    each year?
Farming - Recd no pay except a bare living
19. Have you a family? If so, who composes such family? Give their means of 
    support? Have they a homestead?
Yes, a wife + 1 daughter, by their labor + my own. They have no homestead
20. Are your receiving a pension? If so, what amount and for what disability?
21. Have you ever made an application for pension before?
22. How many applications have you ever made and under what class?
One. under pension at section 1254 of code
Sworn and subscribed before me this the 15th day of April 1901
C.H. Jones, Ordinary of Crawford County

Marion J Hatchett (his signature)
image of Marion Jasper Hatchett's signature
Image of Marion Jasper Hatchett's signature from Pension Application